CarGold Glove Gonzalez

Carlos Gonzales has beat out Ryan Braun and Martin Prado for his second Gold Glove.  Gonzalez won his other GG in 2010.  The award, which is voted on by NL managers and coaches, in theory is designed to focus only on fielding accomplishments.  CarGo’s 2012 fielding percentage of .982 isn’t as impressive as his almost perfect 2011 where he posted a 1.000 fielding percentage in center and right fields with a .990 in left, but because of the rule change that breaks the award into position, as opposed to complete outfield stats, he was ineligible for the award.

He tweeted his feelings about winning the award after it was announced by saying,

I feel honored and blessed with this award. Having a great defense in the outfield [is] very important for me. I work hard to be a help for my team.

Here is a list of the other Gold Glove winners:

POS AL winner NL winner
C Matt Wieters, BAL Yadier Molina, STL
1B Mark Teixeira, NYY Adam LaRoche, WAS
2B Robinson Cano, NYY Darwin Barney, CHC
SS J.J. Hardy, BAL Jimmy Rollins, PHI
3B Adrian Beltre, TEX Chase Headley, SD
LF Alex Gordon, KC Carlos Gonzalez, COL
CF Adam Jones, BAL Andrew McCutchen, PIT
RF Josh Reddick, OAK Jason Heyward, ATL
P Jeremy Hellickson, TB & Jake Peavy, CWS Mark Buehrle, MIA
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x